I Mina' Trentai Dos Na Liheslaturan Guåhan

Resolutions Log Sheet

Resolution No.	Sponsor	Title	Date Intro	Date of	Date	Committee /	Date Adopted
				Presentatio	Referred	Ofc Referred	
				n			
247-32 (COR)	Michael F.Q. San Nicolas	Relative to recognizing and congratulating the Bataan Association of Guam	10/3/13	10/5/13			10/04/13
	B. J.F. Cruz	on the induction of its Officers, Board of Directors, and Board of Trustees;	4:06 p.m.	6:00 p.m.			
		and to further commending the Bataan Association for its contributions					
		toward strengthening the relationship among the Bataan Association of					
		Guam, other members of the Filipino community on Guam, and the island's					
		local residents.					

I MINA'TRENTAI DOS NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN 2013 (FIRST) Regular Session

Resolution No. 247-32 (COR)

Introduced by:

Michael F. Q. San Nicolas

B. J.F. Cruz

R. J. Respicio

T. C. Ada

V. Anthony Ada

FRANK B. AGUON, JR.

Chris M. Dueñas

Michael T. Limtiaco

Brant McCreadie

Tommy Morrison

T. R. Muña Barnes

Vicente (ben) C. Pangelinan

Dennis G. Rodriguez, Jr.

Aline A. Yamashita, Ph.D.

Judith T. Won Pat, Ed.D.

Relative to recognizing and congratulating the Bataan Association of Guam on the induction of its Officers, Board of Directors, and Board of Trustees; and to further commending the Bataan Association of Guam for its contributions toward strengthening the relationship among the Bataan Association of Guam, other members of the Filipino community on Guam, and the island's local residents.

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE COMMITTEE ON RULES OF I

- 2 MINA'TRENTAI DOS NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN:
- WHEREAS, Guam is currently home to thousands of individuals of Filipino
- 4 ancestry; and

WHEREAS, the people of Guam continue to have a strong relationship with the Filipino community on Guam built by years of friendship, kinship, and a shared sentiment of wanting our island to prosper and flourish; and

WHEREAS, Filipinos have helped to enrich and diversify Guam by establishing themselves as integral members of the island community. Many individuals of Filipino ancestry diligently serve our island as educators, business leaders, doctors, nurses, police officers, accountants, government officials, and in many other professions; and

WHEREAS, dozens of organizations on Guam are led by various Filipino groups, and the community contributions of these groups have proven to be invaluable and beneficial to the overall success of Guam and its people; and

WHEREAS, one such Filipino-led group, the Bataan Association of Guam, is a non-profit organization comprised of former residents of the historical province of Bataan, and those considered originating from the province by way of blood, ancestry, or affinity; and

WHEREAS, Bataan is considered one of the most progressive provinces in Central Luzon and the Manila Bay region. Bataan is particularly significant because of its location at the center of the Philippines' growth triad corridor of the Subic Bay Metropolitan Authority (SBMA), the Clark Special Economic Zone, and Metro Manila, and it is a strategic transport route and transshipment point linking the SBMA area and other Central Luzon provinces to Metro Manila; and

WHEREAS, with all its business activity, Bataan continues to be a key contributor to the overall economic growth of Central Luzon, and the country as a whole; and

WHEREAS, the Bataan Association of Guam seeks to carry out programs and activities that promote and develop the cultural, artistic, and social interests of the organization. Additionally, the Association pledges to undertake community-related projects that benefit not only its members and other Filipino groups but the entire island of Guam; and

WHEREAS, the Bataan Association of Guam recently elected its Officers,
Board of Directors, and Board of Trustees to serve until 2015; and

8 WHEREAS, the newly-elected Officers of the Bataan Association of Guam include: Wilner A. Dizon, President; Angelina "Leng" Cruz, Vice President; Josie 9 10 Mercado, Secretary; Carmencita "Chita" Cortez, Assistant Secretary; Arsenia "Baby" 11 Sabinay, Treasurer; Dolor Dela Cruz, Assistant Treasurer; Letty Cunanan, Auditor; 12 Rey Malixi, Public Relations Officer; and Nolex Dising, Peace Officer. The newly-13 elected Board of Directors includes: Joe Guevarra; Tessie Marcos; Amado Lipar, Jr.; 14 Rizaldy Cortez; and Nixon Mercado. The newly-elected Board of Trustees includes: 15 Armando Dominguez; Manny Cunanan; Jay R Dominguez; and Arsenio Santiago; 16 now therefore, be it

RESOLVED, that the Committee on Rules of *I Mina'Trentai Dos Na Liheslaturan*Guåhan does hereby, on behalf of *I Liheslaturan Guåhan* and the people of Guam,
recognize and congratulate the Bataan Association of Guam on the induction of its
Officers, Board of Directors, and Board of Trustees; and does further commend the
Bataan Association of Guam for its contributions toward strengthening relationships
among the Bataan Association of Guam, other members of the Filipino community on
Guam, and the island's local residents; and be it further

RESOLVED, that the Speaker and the Chairperson of the Committee on Rules certify, and the Legislative Secretary attest to, the adoption hereof, and that copies of

24

25

- 1 the same be thereafter transmitted to Mr. Wilner A. Dizon, President, Bataan
- 2 Association of Guam; and to the Honorable Edward J.B. Calvo, I Maga'lahen
- 3 Guåhan.

DULY AND REGULARLY ADOPTED BY THE COMMITTEE ON RULES OF *I MINA'TRENTAI DOS NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN* ON THE 4TH DAY OF OCTOBER 2013.

JUDITH T. WON PAT, Ed.D.

Speaker

RORY J. RESPICIO

Chairperson, Committee on Rules

TINA ROSE MUNA BARNES

Legislative Secretary



VOTING SHEET

Resolution No. 247-32 (COR) Michael F. Q. San Nicolas, B. J.F. Cruz - "Relative to recognizing and congratulating the Bataan Association of Guam on the induction of its Officers, Board of Directors, and Board of Trustees; and to further commending the Bataan Association for its contributions toward strengthening the relationship among the Bataan Association of Guam, other members of the Filipino community on Guam, and the island's local residents."

	SIGNATURE	DATE	TO ADOPT	TO NOT ADOPT	TO ABSTAIN					
SENATOR RORY J. RESPICIO										
Chairperson										
SENATOR THOMAS C. ADA		10/4								
Vice-Chairperson	email	(0)	*							
SPEAKER JUDITH T. WON PAT,	é									
Ed,D.	email	(0/5		A. A						
Member		3 -								
VICE-SPEAKER BENJAMIN J.F.		f .								
CRUZ	email	10/4								
Member	• • • •	0 (
LEGISLATIVE SECRETARY		1.6								
TINA ROSE MUÑA BARNES	email	1014								
Member										
SENATOR VICENTE (Ben) C.		N e constant								
PANGELINAN										
Member										
SENATOR DENNIS G.	-									
RODRIGUEZ,	email	(0/4								
JR.	Ellaci	1.1	*							
Member										
SENATOR FRANK BLAS AGUON,	`. (
JR.	email	10/4								
Member										
SENATOR MICHAEL F.Q. SAN		10/4								
NICOLAS	C.	1017								
Member					,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,					
SENATOR V. ANTHONY ADA	email	[0/4								
Minority Member	J. 33 (,								
SENATOR ALINE YAMASHITA	email	10/4								
Minority Member										
For Sponsor's Office Use Qu	- 1									
Sponsor Signature:										
Staff Contact Person: Jermain Alerta										
Date: 19/1/13 10/4/13 JA										
For COR/Clerk's Office Use Only										
Certified Returned										
Name: M. Mottos										
Date:										
Notes:										